Jump to:

Department of Plant Pathology Faculty Members

Richard Bostock
Professor of Plant Pathology, Director of the Western Plant Diagnostic Network
Area of Specialization: Biochemistry and molecular biology of plant-microbe interactions; diseases of orchard crops.
Location: 256 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 0308
rmbostock@ucdavis.edu
Clare Casteel
Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: Molecular biology, chemical ecology, genetics, genomics and biochemistry; plant-vector interactions; plant-microbe-interactions; plant-insect-interactions; plant signaling and defense; global change.
Office Location: 258 Hutchison
Lab Location: 263 Hutchison
Phone: 530-752-6897
ccasteel@ucdavis.edu
Gitta Coaker
Professor, Graduate Program Chair
Area of Specialization: Molecular biology, genetics and proteomics of plant-microbe interactions; plant bacteriology.
Location: 576 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 6541
glcoaker@ucdavis.edu
Douglas Cook
Professor of Plant Pathology, Director of Feed the Future Innovation Lab for Climate Resilient Chickpea
Areas of Specialization: Legume Species, Food Security and Plant-Microbe Interactions
Location: 116 Robbins Hall
Phone: +1 530 754 6561
drcook@ucdavis.edu
Helene Dillard
Professor of Plant Pathology, Dean of College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
Location: 150 Mrak Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 1605
hrdillard@ucdavis.edu
Lynn Epstein
Professor of Plant Pathology
Areas of Specialization: Breeding, selection and identification of disease resistance, plant disease control in sustainable agricultural ecosystems, the development of fungi in natural environments, fungal-specific pathways, ergothioneine, microscopy
Location: 282 Hutchison Hall
Phone:+1 530 754 7916
lepstein@ucdavis.edu
Bryce Falk
Distinguished Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: plant virology, virus vector and virus plant interactions, controlling virus infections.
Location: 212 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 0302
bwfalk@ucdavis.edu
Robert Gilbertson
Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Virology and seed pathology, emphasis on applied and basic aspects, including ecology and epidemiology of viral, bacterial and fungal pathogens; molecular genetics, classification and detection of geminiviruses and potyviruses.
Location: 278 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 3163
rlgilbertson@ucdavis.edu
Deborah Golino
Director of Foundation Plant Services, Specialist in the Cooperative Extension, Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Fruit crop clean stock programs, viral diseases of grapevines and fruit trees, vector plant pathology, phytosanitary regulations and law.
Location: 104 FPS Fac,
Phone: +1 530 754 8102
dagolino@ucdavis.edu
Thomas Gordon
Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Ecology and evolution of plant pathogenic fungi, fungal-insect interactions, disease control.
Location: 280 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 4269
trgordon@ucdavis.edu
Johan Leveau
Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Phyllosphere microbiology, bacterial mycophagy, microbial metagenomics, bioreporter technology, single-cell microbial ecology, microbial exploitation of phytohormones, structure and function of plant microbiota (the phytobiome).
Location: 476 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 5046
jleveau@ucdavis.edu
Neil McRoberts
Associate Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Plant disease epidemiology, systems modelling and analysis, bio-economic analysis of plant diseases. Location: 552 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 3248
nmcroberts@ucdavis.edu
Themis Michailides
Plant Pathologist, Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Etiology, Etiology, ecology, epidemiology, prediction, and integrated management of above-ground fungal diseases and postharvest diseases of tree fruit and nut crops and vines in San Joaquin and Sacramento Valleys. Understanding and management of fungicide resistance. Preharvest aflatoxin and ochratoxin contamination in tree nuts (mainly pistachios) and figs. Molecular epidemiology and diagnosis of diseases by conventional and molecular procedures.
Location: Kearney R&E Ctr,
Phone:+1 559 646 6546
tjmichailides@ucanr.edu
David Rizzo
Professor of Plant Pathology, Department Chair
Area of Specialization: Mycology; forest pathology and fungal diseases of woody plants; fungal ecology and systematics.
Location: 386 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 754 9255
dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu
Pamela Ronald
Distinguished Professor of Plant Pathology, Director of Grass Genetics Joint Bioenergy Institute
Area of Specialization: Rice Crop Genetics
Location: 228 Robbins Hall
Phone:+1 530 752 1654
pcronald@ucdavis.edu
Ioannis Stergiopoulos
Associate Professor
Areas of Specialization: Plant Pathology, Fungal Genetics and Genomics, Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions, Comparative Genomics, Molecular Evolution, Fungicide Resistance, Multidrug Resistance.
Location: 578 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530-400-9802
istergiopoulos@ucdavis.edu
Krishna Subbarao
Specialist in the Cooperative Extension, Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Ecology, epidemiology and integrated control of fungal diseases of vegetables. Location: 1636 East Alisal Street, Salinas, CA 93905,
Phone: +1 831 755 2890
kvsubbarao@ucdavis.edu
Cassandra Swett
Assistant Specialist in the Cooperative Extension
Area of Specialization: Vegetable and Field Crop Pathology
Office: 260 Hutchison Lab: 253 Hutchison
Phone: 530-752-3377
clswett@ucdavis.edu
Florent Trouillas
Assistant Specialist in the Cooperative Extension, Lecturer
Location: Kearney Ag Center, Parlier, CA 93648,
Phone: +1 559 646 6566
flotrouillas@ucanr.edu
 

Other faculty members in the Plant Pathology Graduate Program

Dario Cantu
Assistant Professor of Viticulture and Enology Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
dacantu@ucdavis.edu
Jorge Dubkovsky
Plant Sciences, Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
Location: 122 Robbins Hall,
Phone: +1 530 752 5159
jdubcovsky@ucdavis.edu
Ed Caswell-Chen
Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
Location: 457 Hutchison Hall,
Phone:+1 530 752 3659
epcaswell@ucdavis.edu
Ed Lewis
Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
Location: 4208 Storer Hall
Phone: +1 530 754 7659
eelewis@ucdavis.edu
Maeli Melotto
Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
melotto@ucdavis.edu
Richard Michelmore
Professor of Plant Sciences
Location: 4311 GBSF,
Phone: +1 530 752 1729
rwmichelmore@ucdavis.edu
Steve Nadler
Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
Location: 4206 Storer
Phone: +1 530 752 2121
sanadler@ucdavis.edu
Trevor Suslow
Extension Postharvest Specialist, Department of Plant Sciences
Location: 105 Mann Lab
Phone: +1 530 754 8313
tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu
Diane Ullman
Professor of Entomology
deullman@ucdavis.edu
Becky Westerdahl
Member of the Plant Pathology Graduate Group
Location: 560 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 1405
bbwesterdahl@ucdavis.edu

USDA Researchers

Kendra Baumgartner
Research Plant Pathologist
kbaumgartner@ucdavis.edu
Greg Browne
Research Plant Pathologist
gtbrowne@ucdavis.edu
Takao Kasuga
Research Molecular Geneticist
tkasuga@ucdavis.edu
Daniel Kluepfel
Location Coordinator, Research Plant Pathologist
dakluepfel@ucdavis.edu
Amisha Poret-Peterson
USDA-ARS Soil Microbiologist
Location: 5202 Storer Hall
Office Phone Number: 530-752-4419
aporetpeterson@ucdavis.edu
Mysore Sudarshana
Research Plant Pathologist, Adjunct Lecturer in Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Biology and control of viruses and graft-transmissible agents of grapevines, stonefruits, and walnuts.
mrsudarshana@ucdavis.edu

Emeritus Faculty

George Bruening
Professor Emeritus
Area of Specialization: Mechanisms of natural and genetically engineered resistance against viruses; biochemistry and molecular genetics of plant viruses and subviral RNA agents
gebruening@ucdavis.edu
Mike Davis
Professor Emeritus
rmdavis@ucdavis.edu
John Duniway
Professor Emeritus
jmduniway@ucdavis.edu
Douglas Gubler
Area of Specialization: Trees, vines, small fruits
Location: 460 Hutchison Hall
Phone: +1 530 752 0304
wdgubler@ucdavis.edu
Clarence Kado
Professor Emeritus
cikado@ucdavis.edu
John Mircetich
Professor Emeritus
jsmircetich@ucdavis.edu
Jerry Uyemoto
Professor Emeritus
jkuyemoto@ucdavis.edu
Beth Teviotdale
CE Plant Pathologist (Emeritus)
blteviotdale@ucanr.edu
Robert Webster
Professor Emeritus
rkwebster@ucdavis.edu
James MacDonald
Professor Emeritus
jdmacdonald@ucdavis.edu
David Gilchrist
Professor Emeritus
Area of Specialization: Genetic, biochemical and molecular analysis of plant-microbe interactions: mycotoxins, programmed cell death in plant disease, diseases of agronomic crops.
dggilchrist@ucdavis.edu
Valerie Williamson
Professor of Plant Pathology
Area of Specialization: Genetics and genomics of root-knot nematodes, nematode behavior and attraction to hosts, nematode identification
vmwilliamson@ucdavis.edu
Neal Van Alfen
Professor Emeritus
Area of Specialization: Fungal Molecular Biology
nkvanalfen@ucdavis.edu
Adib Rowhani
Project Scientist, Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Plant virology, isolation and characterization of plant viruses, virus detection techniques. The specific areas of my research are: 1) Identification and molecular characterization of viruses in grapevine and fruit and nut trees; 2) Disease etiology related to viruses; 3) Molecular method development for virus detection; 4) High throughput sequencing and sequence analysis.
Location: 114 FPS Fac
Phone:+1 530 752 5401
akrowhani@ucdavis.edu